Is Aioli Vegan?

Answer: no

Aioli is a fancy dipping sauce and condiment. It is not vegan; it’s made with egg yolks. Thankfully, you can make or find vegan alternatives.

7 thoughts on “Is Aioli Vegan?

  1. I make my own vegan aioli…
    It has olive oil, chopped garlic, lemon juice, and Vegenaise (vegan mayo)! 🙂 It’s really good! 🙂

  2. I just asked the restaurant waiter (in the best spanish I could) if aioli is vegan. She said they didn’t used egg anymore because of the risk of salmonella. Could be a specific thing to warmer areas so do check for yourself! 🙂

    1. I must add: I asked this in a restaurant where they served (fresh) aioli together with bread. Big chance the store-bought aioli still contain eggs since it can be stored cooled.

  3. Aioli is traditionally vegan. Some places do shortcuts by adding mayo. But purists and traditionalists will tell you aioli is a base of pureed mashed garlic, olive oil, and water.

Leave a Reply to VeganByNature Cancel reply