May 28, 2024

Is Salmiakki Vegan?

Answer: probably

Salmiakki or salmiak is a salty sweet licorice popular in Northern Europe. It’s key ingredient is ammonium chloride giving it a blast of salty power. It’s actually a type of candy where some variations are or are not vegan. For instance, some of the gummy versions are made with gelatin/gelatine. Not vegan. While others, like the Fazer package pictured below are vegan friendly. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply