May 28, 2024

Is Okonomi Sauce Vegan?

Answer: sometimes

Okonomi sauce is a traditional Japanese sauce that is a combination of red sauce and soy sauce. Think salty and sweet. Unfortunately, it is sometimes made with Worcestershire Sauce (not vegan, normally, due to anchovies) and Dashi, which depending on the variety is likely not vegan. Some store brand Okonomi sauces have neither and appear vegan friendly. Always read the label.

Leave a Reply