June 23, 2024

Is Calcium Carbonate Vegan?

Answer: Maybe

It is a common substance found as rock in all parts of the world but is also the main component of seashells and the shell of snails. Calcium carbonate is found naturally as the following minerals and rocks: Aragonite, Calcite, … Fun fact: it’s usually the principal cause of hard water.

From the isitvegan.com archives. Thanks to Dan Linehan.

4 thoughts on “Is Calcium Carbonate Vegan?

  1. I’m trying to find that out too. I emailed the company Silk to find out if the calcium carbonate they use in their soy milk is biological (not vegan) or geological (vegan). Anyone out there know? Haven’t heard back from Silk yet.

  2. Our almondmilk, soymilk, coconutmilk, cashewmilk, blends, creamer products and yogurt alternatives are completely vegan! There are no animal products, by-products or derivatives in these products, and the calcium we use in these products is derived from natural limestone.
    Silk FAQs for Soymilk, Almondmilk, Coconutmilk

    1. I see no ethical problem to use limestone to enrich all these products in calcium carbonate. However, it seems that limestone is a product of the aggregation of coral, foraminifera, and molluscs skeletons. And those organisms are part of the animal kingdom.

      But I think there is no ethical question here! ^^

Leave a Reply