July 15, 2024

Is Hanukah Gelt Vegan?

Answer: sometimes

Hanukah gelt is typically a chocolate disc wrapped in silver or gold foil. Sometimes, this gelt (it seems especially true when it’s called geld, with a ‘g’, which is a European tradition), is made with milk chocolate. Not vegan. But there are many varieties of kosher pareve gelt that are vegan friendly. There is an example at this link.

Leave a Reply