May 28, 2024

Is Cork Vegan?

Answer: yes!

Natural cork is harvested from living trees. These trees are frequently referred to as Cork Oak, and mostly grow in the Mediterranean region. The tree bark is CAREFULLY trimmed off the tree every 8 to 14 years. This cycle can continue as long as the tree lives. Now that’s pretty cool.

Synthetic cork is mostly plastic. Interestingly enough, it can be recycled, generally as a #4 or a #7. Double crazy.

Now go pop the top of your favorite vegan wine! (of if you are a teetotaller like me, just go drink some oj … ha)

Leave a Reply