Is Wasabi Vegan?

Answer: Yes!

Wasabi may be a mysterious looking substance, but it’s ingredients are quite simple. Wasabi is actually a plant. It grows leafy shoots (also edible) but the real power punch is in the root. The root is traditionally grated and formed before eating. That’s it. Maybe some water.

But, it should be noted, not all restaurants serving wasabi are actually serving the root based plant. It’s easier to substitue a mixture of horseradish, mustard, green food coloring and a binder (likely corn starch). To get the real stuff, you have to go to Japan or high end restaurants. If you are craving the authentic wasabi, you can always try Amazon for real wasabi, but make sure to read the ingredients. Otherwise, you are just buying expensive, green horseradish paste.

2 comments for “Is Wasabi Vegan?

  1. goldfish
    April 27, 2013 at 12:14 am

    Be a little careful: a very authentic Japanese restaurant (i.e. the same place that might actually have real wasabi) may prepare the root by grinding it against sharkskin.

  2. Taylin
    September 30, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Make sure to read the ingredients for store wasabi! I bought one the other day and after I got home found that it contained egg whites..

Leave a Reply