May 28, 2024

Is Baklava Vegan?

Answer: no

Baklava is a traditional Middle Eastern dessert made from phyllo dough, nuts and a sweet glaze. For most recipes, the baked good portion calls for butter. And for the sweet glaze, honey is often used. Of course, both of these items could be substituted out – margarine for the butter, perhaps agave or maple syrup for honey (and some sugar). There is a recipe for vegan baklava in The Joy of Vegan Baking (an AWESOME book, by the way). I haven’t tried it yet, but it uses the substitutions I listed above (margarine and agave).

6 thoughts on “Is Baklava Vegan?

  1. There are some middle eastern shops which use olive oil instead of butter in their baklava – there is one near me. You just have to ask whether they use butter or olive oil (most use butter). I don’t think I have ever come across baklava that used honey as a glaze. Most just use sugar syrup. So actually, you can get vegan baklava.

  2. I’m Egyptian, so Baklava is one of the main desserts that we eat. You’d be surprised how often ready made Baklava is actually vegan. The main reasons that so many are made vegan are because many Arabs observe different fasting periods which do not permit consuming butter, etc. and also because it’s cheaper to use oils than dairy butter.

    Whether Christian, Muslim or another religion, many fasts often do not allow the consumption of animal derived products! So luckily for us vegans, we can often buy ready made Baklava! Try Middle Eastern stores where they may put more effort into accommodating people who are fasting. 🙂

  3. I actually made vegan baklavas last night. I used smart balance flax in place of butter, pecans, and agave in place of honey. They were perfect. Nice and clean. I also decided to use swerve instead of sugar to lower some of the calories.

  4. Cedar’s (hummus brand) used to make baklava that was sweetened with rose syrup instead of honey. It was SO SO good. I haven’t seen it since 2006 or so 🙁

Leave a Reply