Is Soy Cheese Vegan?

Now just stop. I know what you are thinking, “duh, of course soy cheese is vegan!” But you’d be wrong in some cases. That’s right, there is NON-VEGAN soy cheese out there. It’s labeled “lactose free”, which does not imply dairy free. Most of these non-vegan soy cheeses contain casein, a milk derivative. BOOO.

Here are just a FEW non-vegan soy cheeses

Veggie Slices from Galaxy Nutritional Foods. (They do sell a vegan soy cheese too)

Soya Kaas

There are more too, keep your eyes peeled! On the flip side, there are plenty of vegan cheeses.

VEGAN!
Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet
Daiya Foods Vegan Cheese
Chicago Soy Dairy Teese
Redwoods Food Cheezly

Get into them!

1 comment for “Is Soy Cheese Vegan?

  1. Callie
    November 30, 2011 at 12:21 am

    You have to make sure you check the ingredients! For a couple weeks, I was buying soy cheese, until I realized it has “Casein” in it, aka milk protein, which is NOT vegan. It just depends on the ingredient! I found Dairy free, cheese at Superstore in Canada, and it is vegan.

Leave a Reply