Are Bagels Vegan?

Answer: almost always, yes.

Much like the is bread vegan question, we’re frequently asked if bagels are vegan. I wasn’t aware bagels were so mysterious! Fresh bakery bagels are typically made from flour, water, yeast and salt. That’s the basics. Avoid bagels of the following variety: egg, cheddar jack, jalapeno cheddar, chocolate chip (most are milk chocolate, but some could be vegan friendly dark) … Some sweeter bagels can contain whey.

Frozen or mass produced bagels can be different. Some contain L-cysteine which is derived from animals (feathers, crazy). Panera was a shop that sourced animal-derived L-Cysteine previously. Thankfully, their bagels are now vegan friendly!

Ps. Cream cheese is OBVIOUSLY not vegan. But scout out a shop with hummus, peanut butter or, if you are lucky, tofu cream cheese. Good luck!

12 comments for “Are Bagels Vegan?

  1. June 21, 2014 at 11:23 am

    Actually, a lot of bagels have white sugar and some have an egg wash

    • July 24, 2014 at 4:29 am

      White sugar isn’t processed with bone char in all countries.

  2. June 21, 2014 at 11:26 am

    Also, many breads are not vegan because they will have white sugar, dairy, sometimes egg, and very often will be washed with egg or milk.

    • Taxi
      December 13, 2015 at 10:49 am

      Well, white sugar is vegan, isn’t it?

      • jurgen
        September 14, 2016 at 4:50 am

        not Always Sugar it normaly brown.. they make them white by burn boans from animals … but some white Sugar is vegan … in america they nummer Sugar ? and 1 number is not vegan … on YouTube you find with number is vegan , in Belgium i dont know what is vegan … when my Sugar is out of stock i will buy natrual Sugar for sure

      • Nigel
        September 14, 2016 at 6:45 pm

        A lot of refined sugar is processed with animal bone char to remove impurities.

  3. Julia
    January 18, 2017 at 1:17 pm

    You can also top it with avocado 🙂 did that this morning with a home made onion bagel yummmm

  4. PaulyWolley
    March 24, 2017 at 10:50 am

    Thanks for the good info. It’s still best to ask, though. I was recently at the St Lawrence Food Hall in Toronto and was about to buy a sesame bagel from a bagel bakery. After I asked about dairy-free spreads the owners guessed that I don’t consume animal products and told me that they use eggs in all their bagels.

  5. Eman
    March 3, 2019 at 12:51 am

    In 7 years since this was written, I can now go to my local big chain supermarket and choose from 3 brands of vegan cream cheese (and none are soy! Ha!)

    • @isitvegan
      March 3, 2019 at 2:42 am

      I know, right? It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply