May 28, 2024

Is Falafel Vegan?

Is Falafel Vegan? falafel

Answer: Yes. And bonus…it’s also delicious.

Falafel is typically made from chickpeas and spices, that are formed into balls and deep-fried. Falafel is often served with tahini sauce, cucumber, tomato and a pickled vegetable, either in a pita or as an appetizer.

Falafel is a common street food in the US, but is notable for being the national food of Israel. @isitvegan had plenty during his trip there in 2014 and can attest to their superiority in cooking.

Things to watch out for:

  • Restaurants may share the same fry oil with non-vegan items. Fortunately, many do not.
  • Recipe sites tend to add egg as a binder, but there are plenty of vegan options.

You can make our own at home:

  • You can use a powdered mix like this one made by Fantastic Foods.
  • Or you could try your hand at a recipe from scratch…Try this more traditional recipe from Tori Avey or this variation from Minimalist Baker.

Leave a Reply