Are Oreos Vegan?

Update (06/15/2011): I was just told, and just reviewed the ingredients. In Europe, and possibly elsewhere abroad, Oreos contain whey powder which is definitely NOT vegan. Boooooo!

Answer: it depends on your stance on refined sugar.

Backstory: a few years ago, Kraft, the maker of Oreo Cookie sandwiches bought out Hydrox Cookies and reformulated their Oreo cookies. They removed all dairy elements, and with a serious glance, the ingredient list looked vegan (unlike Soft Batch Cookies that switched their packaging to include “dairy flavors,” sigh). Vegans of the world rejoiced and began dipping seriously into their collective soy/rice/almond/hemp/… milk glasses. But some vegans questioned the sourcing of the Kraft sugars. One of those vegans is Vegeta-Lou. She contacted Kraft and just got word back. You can read the full emails here, but I’ll give you the summary.

Kraft has several sugar suppliers. Some of our suppliers DO use the animal-derived natural charcoal (also known as “bone char”) in their cane sugar refining process and some suppliers DO NOT use this process.

There you have it. The ingredients are all vegan, but the processing of their sugars can involve bone char.

Now you know! Thanks to Vegeta-Lou for sending us the info. Her website makes me want to get back to Paris. Thanks Lou!

22 comments for “Are Oreos Vegan?

  1. Thom Brown
    June 15, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    I got the following message from Kraft when I asked them about vegan suitability of Oreo products: “Unfortunately the Oreo’s made in the UK are not suitable for vegetarians as it contains animal rennet.”

    So it looks like it’s not even suitable for vegetarians, let along vegans.

    • @isitvegan
      June 15, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      Yuck. Thanks for the info. Maybe if enough people email and complain, they’ll change over to the US recipe!

  2. endmile
    June 16, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Newman’s Own brand has their version of oreos called Newman-O’s. All organic, vegan, no forced labor, etc. They are as good as oreos, in my opinion. They also have other filling flavors like peanut butter now.

    • @isitvegan
      June 18, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Big fan of the Newman’s Own. I also like that the profits all support the Newman Charity. Big fan.

  3. September 5, 2011 at 8:10 am

    In Spain, Oreos are not vegan… boooooh!!!

  4. jez
    September 14, 2011 at 9:00 am

    why would you want to support a company like kraft regardless of whether they make anyhting vegan or not!!

    • @isitvegan
      September 15, 2011 at 2:22 pm

      I just answer the questions asked.

      Kraft often claims to not test on animals, but there is no guarantee or proof of third party animal testing.

    • October 28, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Why would u want to support the company, that’s makes your computer your typing on?

  5. Unai
    May 23, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Oreo are already vegan in Spain. You only have to be careful with the old packs, that may contain milk.

  6. June 20, 2013 at 7:42 am

    Oreo products are not vegan. their website says so. here is the address:


    • @isitvegan
      June 20, 2013 at 1:51 pm

      Thanks for the link. You’ll notice our post explicitly excludes UK Oreos. You’ll have to import 😉

  7. Kevin
    June 29, 2015 at 7:11 pm

    Why not eat what you enjoy? … Rather than getting your panties in a bunch on what your eating? Enjoy the food!

  8. Annie
    July 20, 2016 at 12:36 am

    In America, they contain no whey powder, but, the Company that makes them have put on their website that they expeirience a lot of possible cross-contamination from dairy, which they use for other products.

  9. Natasha Coffey
    July 22, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    Many vegans have emailed and Oreo has said they are NOT vegan (US Oreos). I’m so confused anymore on this, I go to one site they’re vegan, go to anothey they aren’t. Then, I go to vegan groups and some say they’re vegan, and once again also aren’t. Which is it?! I don’t know who or what to trust anymore. Newman-O’s are difficult for me to get, all I want are some nice chocolate cookies without all this stress. Please help me out. Are they absolutely 100% vegan or not? Yes or no?

  10. David
    December 27, 2017 at 6:10 pm

    Thank you for this article! A relative told me Oreos are vegan and I disagreed. Your site is the authority in our arguments. 🙂 Love the comments too. Thanks for creating a great community here.

Leave a Reply