Unless specifically labeled “vegan,” donuts are not vegan. They contain both egg and milk products. BUT, fear not, there are vegan donuts in the world. Here are a few of my favorite spots for vegan donuts.
- Ronald’s Donuts (Las Vegas, NV)
- Union Square Donuts (Boston, Ma)
- Dun-Well Doughnuts (Brooklyn, NY)
- The Cinnamon Snail (New York, NY)
- Voodoo Doughnuts (Portland, OR)
- Boston Common Coffee (Boston, Ma. Thursdays only)
- Donut Friend (Los Angeles, CA)
- The Donuttery (Huntington Beach , CA)
- Pepples Donuts (Oakland, CA)
- Mighty-O Donuts (Seattle, WA)
- Valhalla Bakery (Orlando, FL)
- Vegan Treats Bakery (Bethlehem, PA)
Where’s your favorite spot?
And if you don’t live near any of those, you can always make them yourself. Here are a few good books with tasty vegan donut recipes.