Is Crisco Butter Flavor Shortening Vegan?

Answer: Yes

Odd, I know, but the butter flavor shortening from Crisco is in fact vegan. “Butter flavor” is frequently a scare word for vegans, but not in this product. Here are the ingredients.

SOYBEAN OIL, FULLY HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED PALM AND SOYBEAN OILS, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, TBHQ AND CITRIC ACID (ANTIOXIDANTS), BETA CAROTENE (PRO VITAMIN A) ADDED FOR COLOR.

Wild. Get baking!

ps. Thanks to community member, Paola, for contacting Crisco for confirmation.

14 thoughts on “Is Crisco Butter Flavor Shortening Vegan?

  1. Mono and diglycerides are most commonly from animal fat, unless it specifies it’s from vegetables its not vegan.

    1. Glad you pointed that out. The detective in charge of finding out the info sent me the following information.

      I called them, they told me that the mono diglycerides are soy bean derived, and indeed, the product has no animal ingredients.

      Cool.

      As for the health value, @joy, I don’t judge. 😉

      1. it is good to know that there are no animal products in this item. i look forward to being able to make flaky pie crusts again lol. however, as you know, there is more to vegan philosophy than avoiding animal products, it is also about responsible sourcing of materials. have you guys found any information on whether the items hold up to the true vegan standards of sourcing?

  2. My child has recently become lactose intolerant. I am thrilled to find that she can once again enjoy some favorite baked items, thanks to Crisco Butter Flavored Shortening! This is good news for Christmas baking at our house!

    1. lol yes it is bad for you, in the same way that many feast items that we eat a few times a year are bad for you, as vegans it is just nice to know we can have flaky pie crusts lol. however, healthy it is not!

  3. If you eat 9 cans of Crisco every day … Yeah … it’s probably bad for you. If you just use it properly in regular common recipes … it’s no worse at all than any other regular common ingredients. Read the label. It’s no big deal.

  4. This is on their list of ingredients now…

    Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Fully Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed And Soybean Oils, Mono And Diglycerides, Natural And Artificial Butter Flavors, Tbhq And Citric Acid (Antioxidants), Beta-Carotene (Pro Vitamin A) Added For Color.

    The whole natural and artificial butter flavors leads me to wonder again if it’s still vegan.

    1. @ Will Pakinson . Laws couldn’t realistically force any company to breakdown the each ingredient into a “sub-ingredient” list, that could then brake down again into another list of sub-sub-ingredients (over and over)! So all we can do is take their word on the fact that the “natural and artificial butter flavor” doesn’t actually include any dairy in its fabrication process.

Leave a Reply to Stephanie Smith Cancel reply