I know what you are thinking, paneer looks and feels like tofu cubes. But it is not. Instead, paneer is a traditional Indian cheese product. That’s right, cheese. Or cheese like, really. So no, not vegan. BUT, vegetarians will be happy to know that it is rennet free.
One thought on “Is Paneer Vegan?”
If you’re making a dish that tells you to use paneer, like a dish such as saag paneer (spinach, spices, and paneer) you can easily substitute cubes of tofu for the cheese. It’s textually the same and doesn’t taste that much different if you use the same spices.