No. Cool Whip is not vegan.
Originally created in the 1960’s as a ready made “non-dairy” alternative to whipped cream, Cool Whip contains milk products: light cream, skimmed milk and sodium caseinate.
However… this past fallÂ the So-Delicious company came out with a coconut basedÂ ready made “cool whip” called Coco Whip that is suitable for vegans. We purchased some at Whole Foods around Thanksgiving, and it is actually so delicious! However it seems to have disappeared from the website. Perhaps it’s just a seasonal product?
Another option to get your whipped cream fix is to try your hand at making your own with this coconut whipped cream recipe. Just make sure to follow the instructions carefully.