May 28, 2024

Is Sapporo Ichiban Chicken Flavor Ramen Vegan?

Ah, Ramen. Staple of college students, struggling artists, and office dwellers. While dried Ramen can be one of the least expensive meals on the block, the spice packets they contain are often not vegan friendly.  Jonathan wondered specifically about the Sapporo Ichiban Chicken Flavor product.

Looks like the chicken flavor may be entirely artificial. However, the ingredient list (thanks Wegman’s!) didn’t pass the vegan test as “Hydrolyzed Gelatin” and “Lactose” are listed. Sorry, this Ramen is not vegan.

My suggestion, invest in a bottle of tamari, a bottle of siracha, and some rice noodles.

And that full ingredient list:

Sapporo Ichiban Chicken Flavor Ramen 3.5 oz.

Ingredients

Oriental Noodles (3.19 oz): Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin), Palm Oil, Potato Starch, Salt, Guar Gum, Sodium Carbonate and Potassium Carbonate. Soup Base (0.31 oz): Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Sugar, Onion Powder, Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, Soy Protein and Cottonseed Oil), Non Dairy Creamer (Corn Syrup Solids, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil [May Contain One or More of the Following Oils: Coconut, Mono and Diglycerides, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Aluminosilicate, Artificial Flavor, Artificial Colors), Maltodextrin, Hydrolyzed Gelatin, Leek Chips, White Pepper, Lactose, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Garlic Powder, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Artificial Flavor, Turmeric Powder, Celery Powder, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Red Pepper and Corn Oil.

Leave a Reply