Is Frozen Yogurt Vegan?

Answer: no

Frozen yogurt is dairy based and is not vegan. If you are at a random ice cream spot, ask for sorbet (sorbet is generally vegan) or vegan options.

3 comments for “Is Frozen Yogurt Vegan?

  1. July 1, 2016 at 3:14 am

    There are a couple of places near where i live that serve ‘frozen yoghurt.’ They claimed that some varieties – eg vanilla, chocolate – were vegan. I asked them how so, since yoghurt is dairy based, and even if it wasn’t, the culture used generally is. They replied their ‘yoghurt’ is actually a sorbet and isn’t made with culture. So some places may clearly serve dairy based yoghurts, while other may be serving sorbets that they *call* yoghurts.

    • @isitvegan
      July 1, 2016 at 9:29 pm

      That doesn’t even make sense. I can’t tell if that’s bad marketing or just lost in translation. Yikes.

Leave a Reply