Is Nutritional Yeast Vegan?

Answer: Yes.
image

Nutritional Yeast (or nooch as it’s sometimes called) is cultured and deactivated yeast. Which means they let the yeast feed on something for a few days, heat it, then wash it, dry it and package it.

Nutritional Yeast has a cheesy, tangy flavor that is perfect for boosting flavor. It is available in a few sizes of flake. The small flakes are best in creamy sauces or a Vegan Mac N Cheez, while the large flakes are great for sprinkling over popcorn or your favorite snack.

2 comments for “Is Nutritional Yeast Vegan?

  1. ben
    May 21, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    hi.

    i emailed frontier co-op about their nutritional yeast. they sell 1 pound packages. it’s less expensive than bragg.

    may 19
    “Thank you for contacting us! I have provided the ingredient information below. I am checking further with our product specialist to determine if this product could be considered vegan.

    After the fermentation process is completed the yeast is harvested, thoroughly washed, pasteurized, and dried on roller drum dryers. The B vitamins are both naturally produced during fermentation, and added to the cream prior to the drying process. Riboflavin (B2) and Cyanocobalamin (B12) are created during fermentation. Additional Riboflavin (B2) and Cyanocobalamin (B12) are added after fermentation along with Thiamine (B1), Pyridoxine HCL (B6), Niacin and Folic Acid.”

    may 21
    “Thank you for your inquiry. Frontier Bulk Nutritional Yeast is suitable for a vegan diet.

    Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions.

    Cheri
    Frontier Co-op
    Customer Care
    Ph: 800-669-3275
    Fax: 800-717-4372”

  2. Barbara Prince
    January 20, 2016 at 8:08 am

    New to your site, and I don’t know if I missed any comments, but nor all nutritional
    yeast is vegan.

Leave a Reply