Is Soylent Vegan?

Answer: No yes!

Soylent is a meal option for people on the go. More than a supplement, it’s an entire meal replacement. Unfortunately, the product contains fish oil. If you are interested, hit them up and request a vegan option.

Update: a follower on twitter (thanks Brian!) pointed out that they changed their ordering method. Voila. Vegan option!

Fun fact: according to the site, the name is not a nod to the film Soylent Green… Uh huh, sure it isn’t.

3 comments for “Is Soylent Vegan?

  1. November 3, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    According to their site they are already working on replacing the fish oil with a vegan omega-3 replacement:

    (from https://faq.soylent.me/hc/en-us/articles/200789315-Soylent-1-0-Nutrition)

    Animal content:

    At this time, the Soylent 1.0 powder is vegan, and the only animal product in Soylent is the fish oil. We are working on switching to a vegan Omega-3 source, which will make Soylent 100% vegan.

  2. March 10, 2015 at 9:35 pm

    Soylent 1.4 is completely vegan. No need to pick a ‘vegan option’. The oil they are using is powdered seed based.

  3. March 14, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    Soylent is vegan as of version 1.2. Current version is 1.4. If I remember correctly it contains sunflower, flaxseed, safflower, and algal oils. It’s the latter that provide the omega-3 fatty acids provided by fish oil in pre-1.2 versions.

Leave a Reply