Is Jello Vegan?

Answer: No

Jell-O gets its jiggle from gelatin. Sadly, gelatin is hardly ever vegan. So no, Jell-o is not vegan. But, if you search around, you can find comparable recipes. I haven’t found a perfect match yet. Does anyone have a great recipe suggestion?

6 comments for “Is Jello Vegan?

  1. vegan4life
    November 30, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    I buy vegan Jello from the Kosher section at the grocery store. Not much more expensive and just as good!

    • December 1, 2013 at 9:54 pm

      All the kosher jello I’ve ever seen just uses fish gelatin instead of mammal gelatin – have you found something else?

      • @isitvegan
        December 6, 2013 at 9:08 pm

        Fish gelatin is usually among the halal (sad) varieties. Most other kosher gelatins are made from cow bones.

  2. November 30, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Yes they can make Gelatin from Chia seeds for instance, also substitute Pectin in some recipes. Store bought marshmallows have (not vegan) gelatin. but if you can find the original marsh mallow root it is vegan.

  3. Katie
    October 3, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Agar agar is a 100% vegan seaweed/ algae extract that mimics gelatin! If it’s fruity jello you’re after, there a fantastic mix made by “Natural Desserts” that is always at the local Harry’s/ Whole Foods. Delicious jiggly goodness with no gross animal byproducts!

  4. riley
    November 17, 2014 at 3:06 am

    an amazing vegan brand called “cool cups” is a delicious jello alternative. i buy mine at whole foods. i’ve only been able to locate the black cherry gels, but they are delicious!

Leave a Reply