Is Aioli Vegan?

Answer: no

Aioli is a fancy dipping sauce and condiment. It is not vegan; it’s made with egg yolks. Thankfully, you can make or find vegan alternatives.

5 comments for “Is Aioli Vegan?

  1. September 9, 2013 at 3:55 am

    Sorry, but real alioli only has garlic & oil (olive oil)
    The one you mention probably is simple mayonese with garlic, not the same.
    Here some original recipes (in Spanish)

  2. Selina
    September 27, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    I make my own vegan aioli…
    It has olive oil, chopped garlic, lemon juice, and Vegenaise (vegan mayo)! 🙂 It’s really good! 🙂

  3. August 28, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    I just asked the restaurant waiter (in the best spanish I could) if aioli is vegan. She said they didn’t used egg anymore because of the risk of salmonella. Could be a specific thing to warmer areas so do check for yourself! 🙂

    • August 28, 2015 at 6:07 pm

      I must add: I asked this in a restaurant where they served (fresh) aioli together with bread. Big chance the store-bought aioli still contain eggs since it can be stored cooled.

  4. Vegan Firefighter/Medic
    July 29, 2019 at 2:13 am

    Aioli is traditionally vegan. Some places do shortcuts by adding mayo. But purists and traditionalists will tell you aioli is a base of pureed mashed garlic, olive oil, and water.

Leave a Reply