Are Pop Tarts Vegan?

Answer: some actually are!

If you grew up after the 80s, you probably grew up with Pop-Tarts. Whether they were a daily breakfast or a treat at grandmas, you know the Pop-Tart. Sadly, all the frosted Pop-Tarts contain gelatin. Some of the non-standard variations contain whey too (like the muffin styles). BUT, the unfrosted, original Pop-Tarts are gelatin and dairy free. Here are the ingredients for the Blueberry variety.

ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), CORN SYRUP, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, DEXTROSE, SOYBEAN AND PALM OIL (WITH TBHQ FOR FRESHNESS), CRACKER MEAL, CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF WHEAT STARCH, SALT, DRIED BLUEBERRIES, DRIED GRAPES, DRIED APPLES, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA, SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE), CITRIC ACID, CORNSTARCH, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL BLUEBERRY FLAVOR, MODIFIED WHEAT STARCH, SOY LECITHIN, XANTHAN GUM, CARAMEL COLOR, RED #40, BLUE #1, BLUE #2, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, NIACINAMIDE, REDUCED IRON, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), FOLIC ACID.

We’re definitely not claiming they are good for you or a health food item, but the ingredients are a go. Hit up Amazon for a full selection of unfrosted Pop Tarts.

If you prefer an organic alternative (slightly healthier?) and eat honey, you can try the Nature’s Path Organic Toaster Patries. Again, you have to get the unfrosted variety. The frosted ones do not contain gelatin, but they do contain a whey derivative. Booo. The unfrosted ones contain honey. Organic honey, but still honey. The ingredients for the strawberry flavor are below.

Organic Wheat Flour, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Apples, Organic Whole Wheat Flour, Organic Corn Starch, Organic Vital Wheat Gluten, Organic Dextrose, Organic Strawberries, Organic Rice Starch, Organic Strawberry Flavor, Sea Salt, Leavening (Baking Soda, Cream of Tartar), Rice Bran Extract, Organic Honey, Organic Molasses, Citric Acid, Colored With Betalains (From Plants) & Paprika Extract, Organic Vanilla Flavor.

Hit up amazon to grab the Nature’s Path unfrosted toaster pastries flavor you like.

5 comments for “Are Pop Tarts Vegan?

  1. Adriel
    October 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Dextrose may or may not be animal derived…doesn’t sound vegan to me

  2. Adriel
    October 11, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Terrible alternative suggestion by the way….what kind of vegan are you suggesting things that contain honey

    • @isitvegan
      October 12, 2013 at 7:51 am

      @Adriel, did you read what was written?

      PS. I prefer Sabertooth Zombie pop tarts over any boxed crap.

  3. Hedge
    August 20, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Palm oil is not vegan.. the way in which its harvested is inhuman to the orangutans which are beaten, captured and tortured, shot, or sold.The trees are there home.

Leave a Reply