Are Hershey’s Twizzlers Vegan?

Answer: yes (potential bone char sugar)

Twizzlers have been around for decades. The black licorice and red licorice are staples at every theater and outdoor event. And guess what, they’re vegan-friendly too. No gelatin and no milk derivatives. They are however, not gluten free. Even the chocolate twists are dairy free. You can find the full ingredient lists for each flavor below

Strawberry
Chocolate
Cherry
Strawberry Rainbow
Black Licorice
Sweet And Sour Filled

** Note: these products contain mono and di-glyercides, which are “sometimes vegan.” They are also marked kosher. We’re attempting to get clarification from Hershey’s now.

7 comments for “Are Hershey’s Twizzlers Vegan?

  1. Christine
    August 8, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    No, mono and di-glycerides are NOT vegan. Good chance they are from animal fat.

    • @isitvegan
      August 8, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      Mono and diglycerides are a tricky one. They are “sometimes vegan,” in that they can, and often are vegetable based, not cow or pig based. I will rephrase the post. Thank you.

  2. Jen
    August 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    I’d love to know the outcome of your research bc the chocolate ones help me out!

  3. Annie
    January 25, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Did Hershey’s ever respond?

  4. wisco@aol.com
    May 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    I wish the USA labeled ALL of it’s food clearly as the UK does. It would make life so much easier and save innocent animals lives!

    • Karen
      October 18, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      so agree!!

Leave a Reply