Is Nucoa Vegan?

Answer: Yes

Nucoa is a butter substitute product that has been on the market for many, many years. It was and still is vegan. Recent reformulations have even made it healthier. Great!

Ingredients: Liquid Soybean Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Water, Salt, Emulsifiers (Vegetable Monoglycerides, Soy Lecithin), Artificial Flavors, Calcium Disodium Edta and Citric Acid, Vitamin A Palmitate, Colored With Beta-carotene (Provitamin A).

Sources: vrg.org, amazon.com.

4 comments for “Is Nucoa Vegan?

  1. November 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Smart Balance has used the Nucoa name to make these new “buttery” sticks. They taste really horrible and nothing like the original nucoa that is so well loved by millions. The new nucoa contains a lactic acid that is not something that lactose intolerant people can eat. The original nucoa was milk product free. Do not be fooled by the name. This is NOT Nucoa.

  2. Roxana
    September 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    True, it contains lactic acid now.

  3. Webscribe
    November 24, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    The ingredients list above is not what’s in the Nucoa Buttery Sticks now. The oil is NOT hydrogenated. Contains NO TRANS FATS. The lactic acid is from vegetable source (corn). Dunno if dairy lactose problems are the same as for vegetable based lactic acid. Get a grip you people who want to continue eating harmful trans fats: Nucoa is offering a better way to cook and eat. Reprogram your tastes if necessary.
    To your good health!

  4. Samantha
    February 26, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    My husband is allergic to dairy and we have been using these sticks for awhile. A few months ago, we switched to virgin coconut oil which is healthier, natural and all around a better choice. You can swap coconut oil tablespoon for tablespoon, cup for cup, in any recipe. I buy it in a huge tub at Costco.

Leave a Reply