Are Clif Bars Vegan?

Answer: almost all of them are vegan!

Clif Bars are a god send to any vegan who plays hard or travels a lot. These bars pack a ton of calories and protein, and taste excellent too. Just what you’d expect from something that started in someone’s garage. Into it.

Update as of 01/29/15-
As far as I can tell there are no eggs or dairy expressly in Clif Bars based on the information provided in their FAQ and their Allergen Reference Table. They state the following regarding trace amounts:

“CLIF Bars are Kosher Dairy. There are no dairy products in our bars; however, the vendor we purchase our non-dairy chocolate chips from makes chips containing dairy in the same building.” For most this is more of an issue for folks with severe allergies, rather than vegans.

Additionally, Clif Bar writes this in their General Food FAQ about ‘Are your foods vegan friendly?’:

“It depends on your definition. Many of our products do not include ingredients from animal sources.

Any Clif food with an ingredient list that includes an animal sourced ingredient such as milk, whey, casein or honey would not be considered vegan-friendly or plant-based.

We want you to know that those products with a label that includes a statement such as ‘contains’ or ‘may contain’ milk, dairy, egg, fish or shellfish’ may have possible cross-contact with an animal source in the making of our food. Knowing that information, you can decide how comfortable you are in light of your own dietary preferences or dietary restrictions with the risk of possible cross-contact.”

As far as which ones are vegan, Clif Bar has a handy-dandy display on their website. There’s a checkbox for “vegan.” Easy as that. From what I can see, the only two original style bars that are NOT vegan are the mini blueberry crisp and the mini chocolate chip peanut butter (not sure why the mini ones are not vegan, the regular sized ones are …). Check it out for yourself, it’s fun.

Many of the Clif Bar Crunch bars contain honey, but the original bars are mostly vegan-friendly.

And for those concerned about the use of “palm oil,” check this response from a ClifBar rep. Thumbs up.


3 comments for “Are Clif Bars Vegan?

  1. angel
    March 25, 2014 at 11:22 am

    When I click on the no dairy button on the website, all of the original cliff bars disappear.

    • charles
      April 9, 2014 at 2:13 am

      The original Clif Bars disappear now because they MAY contain trace amounts of dairy due to common facilities. They are NOT made with dairy as the FAQ clarifies.
      The only non-vegan products are the few that have honey and/or whey. If you look at the FAQ guide for each product series the company tells you what is or is not vegan.

      I was similarly confused until I figured it out.

      ***Here’s the allergens table: http://www.clifbar.com/allergen#clif_bar
      ***FAQ (select the product): http://www.clifbar.com/food/did_you_know/

      :)

Leave a Reply