Are Marshmallows Vegan?

Answer: generally, no. Not vegan.

Marshmallows are more than just puffs of sugar. Most companies produce marshmallows with gelatin, which is hardly ever vegetarian-friendly. Some marshmallow ingredients also include egg whites.

But have no fear, there are some EXCELLENT vegan marshmallow alternatives.

Dandies Classic Vanilla Flavor Air Puffed Marshmallows are the marshmallows you grew up loving but vegan. These marshmallows are the perfect partner to your hot cocoa.

Sweet And Sara Vegan Marshmallows are a slightly fancier marshmallow product. Think homemade, hand cut glory. I’ve toasted many of these over a camp fire, or just snacked on a few when my wife wasn’t looking. Definitely check out the sample pack to try all their flavors.

And for those looking for a fluff alternative, there is Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme. I like adding this to the occasional peanut butter and banana sandwich.

3 comments for “Are Marshmallows Vegan?

  1. March 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Mmmmm Dandies!!!

  2. Stephen Rushton
    May 10, 2012 at 2:43 am

    There are a few brands that make vegan marshmallows. They are often made out of rice. They are AWESOME!!!!

  3. vegeterian
    June 25, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    i never realized that from my 2 years of being a vegeterian i love marsh mallows :(

Leave a Reply