Is Caprisun Vegan?

Answer: vegan

Caprisun is a “fruit” beverage, generally served to young school aged children. The pouch dispenser is very convenient for lunch boxes. There are many flavors, but here’s the listing for the original orange flavor

WATER; HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP; APPLE, ORANGE, AND WATER EXTRACTED ORANGE JUICE CONCENTRATES; CITRIC ACID; NATURAL FLAVOR; VITAMIN E ACETATE.

And the listing for the breakfast flavor

WATER, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, APPLE AND ORANGE JUICE CONCENTRATES, CALCIUM LACTATE, CITRIC ACID, WATER EXTRACTED ORANGE JUICE CONCENTRATE, ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), NATURAL FLAVOR.

Calcium lactate IS a vegan product, fear not.

Two notes:

1. Caprisun is a Kraft Foods product. Kraft has had an … interesting … history of animal testing. One day they don’t. The next day they do. Then they don’t … Remember that.

2. Just because something is vegan-friendly, doesn’t make it worth drinking. The second ingredient is sugar. Jeez.

2 comments for “Is Caprisun Vegan?

  1. Lars
    March 11, 2012 at 8:05 am

    It depends on the flavor; as the German manufacturer answered me some years ago, they use gelantine to fine the juices for some tastes.

    Quote:

    Sehr geehrter Herr X,

    vielen Dank für Ihre Nachfrage und Ihr Interesse an Capri-Sonne. Wir setzen in unserer Produktion den Capri-Sonne Produkten keine Gelatine zu, Gelatine ist also kein Inhaltsstoff von Capri-Sonne. Allerdings verwenden wir zur Herstellung unserer Capri-Sonne Produkte Fruchtsaftkonzentrate, die zum Teil geklärt sind. Um klare Fruchsäfte wie z.B. Apfelsaft herzustellen, benötigt man Klärungshilfsmittel wie Gelatine, deren Einsatz rechtlich geregelt ist und die nach der Verwendung vor der weiteren Verarbeitung oder der Abfüllung des Saftes vollständig abgetrennt werden müssen.

    In minimalen Mengen ist Gelatine in den Fruchtsaftgetränken mit Provitamin A (CS Power Team) und Beta-Karotin als Trägerstoff für Vitamine enthalten, allerdings in so geringen Mengen, dass es nicht in der Deklaration ausgewiesen sein muss.

    Ich hoffe, ich konnte Ihnen weiterhelfen.

    Mit sonnigen Capri-Sonne Grüßen

    Ihr Capri-Sonne Team

    • Licia
      June 9, 2016 at 1:50 pm

      may I know which flavours are vegan then ? sorry. I can’t read German.
      Thank you for sharing !

Leave a Reply