Are McVities Digestive Biscuits Vegan?

No, McVities digestive biscuits are not vegan.

Jennie from the UK, recently asked if McVities digestive biscuits were vegan.

It seems she’s making a cheesecake (vegan I presume) and is looking for something to make a cookie crumb crust.

I suggest Newman O’s, or some Midel Vanilla Snaps, but to be honest I’m not sure if either product is sold in the UK.

Anyone out there know?

13 comments for “Are McVities Digestive Biscuits Vegan?

  1. Jonny
    June 24, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    What in them isn’t vegan I was always told they were

    • @isitvegan
      June 25, 2011 at 11:26 am

      @Jonny, these contain skim milk. Check the ingredients, unless I have outdated information.

      • Anne
        September 18, 2013 at 6:57 pm

        The McVitie’s Digestives Lights do not contain dairy and taste basically the same.

      • Luis Rappaport
        October 29, 2017 at 8:55 pm

        Certain mcV is vegan. You read the ingredients list before u make third hand outlandish claims by 2nd hand ppl.

    • JBWoodall
      April 11, 2015 at 2:42 am

      Skimmed milk…

      • Luis Rappaport
        October 29, 2017 at 8:56 pm

        Wrong get ur facts corrects. Some are vegan!

  2. GWG
    June 25, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Nope, never heard of those products in the motherland.

    Ginger Nuts are usually vegan, especially the supermarket own brand ones and give a nice gingery twist to the cheesecake base.


  3. melissa
    June 25, 2011 at 11:29 am
  4. jez
    September 14, 2011 at 8:57 am

    the co-op makes vegan digestives as do doves farms foods..very easy to find too..just look properly!

    • Sandy
      December 19, 2013 at 8:57 pm

      Hi there, I’ve recently been looking for digestive vegan biscuits, coop have now changed theirs whereas they used to be suitable for vegans the new packaging says they may contain milk as do digestive lights and also doves farm!!!!!!! Anyone know of anything else please?

  5. Mel Jackson
    May 22, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    tesco ‘oaties’ are vegan and taste great for a cheesecake.

  6. JBWoodall
    April 11, 2015 at 2:43 am

    You can use Hob Nobs for your biscuit base, they are vegan…

  7. Mel Jackson
    May 1, 2015 at 8:47 am

    however, we should also mention that both oaties and hob nobs do contain palm oil.

Leave a Reply