Are Reese’s Puffs Vegan?

Questionable.

Reese’s Puffs cereal is made by General Mills, who are involved with animal testing. Strike one. On first glance, the ingredients seem “generally” vegan, but with some digging, one will probably find that the materials sourced for B12 and monoglycerides are not vegan. The cereal will also contain refined sugar, which many vegans take a stand against due to the potential for bone char refinement.

6 comments for “Are Reese’s Puffs Vegan?

  1. nate
    December 6, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Also any GM cereals with vitamin D are not vegan. It’s Vitamin D3 which is derived from animal skin.

  2. nam far
    October 1, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    I think it is vegan according to peta…
    Also the monoglycerides can be from animal or plant source.
    Finally, there is no added vitamin d.

    • maryann
      August 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

      yes there is. Vitamin D3 is listed in the ingredients

  3. aja
    December 26, 2015 at 12:50 am

    d3 is always animal derived so…nope

  4. Marc
    May 2, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    I’m in Canada, and I’ve been vegan nearly 20 years now. Sometimes ingredients can vary from one country to another, so this at least pertains to Canada. I’m looking at a box of Reese’s Puffs right now. While Vitamin D is listed in Nutrition Facts, it shows a value of 0% (for the cereal without milk). There is no Vitamin D listed in the ingredients list either. And yes, Vitamin D3 is always non-vegan (dairy derived). That is not the case for Vitamin D2. Nonetheless, as I said already, there is no vitamin D listed in the ingredients list, or D3, or D2. No D’s anywhere. I guess you could complain that the company is evil, but dig deep enough and you’ll see even a lot of ‘health food brands’ are tied to the same conglomerates, who only care about money. In fact, money is the only reason that organics have become a market success in supermarkets, despite a huge lack of standardization. In my opinion it is a personal decision to eat this stuff despite the evil animal testing company and white sugar (the best explanation for white sugar I’ve ever seen was from BiteSizeVegan on YouTube – it is the most complete explanation about white sugar). We live in a very non-vegan world, and how much a vegan resists unfortunately tends to have a personal cost as well. Although I wouldn’t want to discourage anyone from doing what is right. I just hope people don’t beat themselves up too badly over it. It is on PETA’s accidentally vegan list after all, so personally that’s good enough for me, especially when the vegan and organic labeled alternatives cost 4 times the price. That money could be going to other good things, like fighting the power with your remaining 3-fold savings. Good luck in your decisions, fellow vegans.

  5. Marc
    May 2, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    PS: I would find it highly unusual for any company to use animal-derived b12. In theory it would be prohibitively expensive, and it doesn’t make sense on a mass production basis. On that note, you may be pleased to know that the cereal does not contain b12 either, and nutrition facts lists it at 0% (for Canadian Reese’s Puffs). There are monoglycerides which I have a hard time imagining would be non-vegan. Would be ideal if the company would just put a vegan logo on their cereal (maybe like a “C” grade vegan logo because they do animal testing… We really should be lobbying different vegan grades). There’s already kosher certification, and I would think that vegan population is gaining on Jewish population, with all things being equal. Dear General Mills, get with it.

Leave a Reply